Seventh Bulfinch Awards

The ICAA’s national awards program, inaugurated in 1982 as the Arthur Ross Awards was a model for the New England chapter’s regional awards program, initiated in 2010 and named for New England’s most famous architect (and America's first native born architect), Charles Bulfinch. This year, the chapter has expanded the scope for entries from work in New England by firms in New England to work in New England by firms from around the United States. The winners of the Bulfinch Awards will be recognized at a ceremonial reception and dinner gala in the Harvard Hall at the Harvard Club of Boston, designed by Parker, Thomas & Rice on April 29, 2017 at six p.m.

2017 Bulfinch Award Winners

Interior Design - Carter and Company “Brookline Private Residence”

Residential (Restoration, Renovation or Addition) - Frank Shirley Architects “Queen Anne Victorian”

Landscape Architecture - LeBlanc Jones Landscape Architects “Ivy Court”

Townhouse & Apartments - Meyer & Meyer, Inc. Architecture and Interiors “9 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston”

Ecclesiastic - FFKR Architects “Hartford Connecticut Temple”

Residential (New Construction) Over 5,000 SF - Peter Pennoyer Architects“Federal House”

Institutional - Robert A.M. Stern Architects “Flinn Hall, Edelman Hall, and Redlich Hall”

Craftsmanship/Artisanship - Telescopes of Vermont “Resurrection of the Porter Garden Telescope”

Historic Preservation - John Canning & Co. Ltd. “Saint Patrick’s Catholic Church”

Sketch - Leslie-jon Vickory of Hamady Architects “Bibliotheque Sainte Genevieve #2”

Patronage - Sheldon Richard Kostelecky

Seventh Bulfinch Awards Judges

Barbara Eberlein, ASID - President and creative director of Eberlein Design Consultants Ltd. in Philadelphia, Barbara is a professional member of the American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) and certified by the National Council for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ). Her work has been published in Architectural Digest and Period Homes. She has written the foreward to the new edition of Michael Kathrens’ book on the Philadelphia architect Horace Trumbauer, and has written the introduction for a private collection recently highlighted at Christie’s New York. Barbara has an ongoing commitment to enriching the education of future design professionals. Currently, she is president emeritus of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) Philadelphia Chapter, as well as the coordinating President of all chapters nationwide.

Duncan McRoberts - Founder and principal of Duncan McRoberts Associates in Seattle, a nationally recognized Pacific Northwest design firm specializing in bespoke traditional and classical architecture. Duncan is well known within the architecture establishment of His Royal Highness, The Prince of Wales, and holds M.Arch and B.Arch degrees from the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture. He is an alumnus of The Prince’s Foundation, a founding board member of INTBAU-USA, founder and president of the Northwest Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA-NW), and a nationally inducted member of the New Urban Guild. Mr. McRoberts began practice in London, England, in the office of renowned classical architect, theorist and 2004 Richard H. Driehaus Prize for Classical Architecture laureate, Dr. Demetri Porphyrios. 

Richard Sammons - Principal of Fairfax and Sammons in New York and Palm Beach, Richard has a rich background in traditional period design and is an internationally recognized expert in the field of architectural proportion, having taught at The Prince of Wales’ Institute of Architecture in London, Pratt Institute in New York and the University of Notre Dame in Rome. His contributions include the foreword of the book The Theory of Mouldings by C. Howard Walker, and collaboration on the recently published book, Get Your House Right by Marianne Cusato. Mr. Sammons began his career in Venice, Italy, with Antonio Foscari and then with David Anthony Easton in New York. He is a founding director of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Classical America.

View Previous Bulfinch Award Winners
And Celebrations