6th Annual Bulfinch Awards

View the 2014 Bulfinch Award Winners

2016 Bulfinch Awards

The New England Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art is pleased to announce its Sixth Bulfinch Awards. Named for Boston architect Charles Bulfinch (1763-1844), America’s first native-born architect and the designer of the Massachusetts State House, the awards recognize the best work of individuals and firms to preserve and advance the classical tradition in New England.




Our esteemed jury for this year’s award program are:

Alvin Holm — Thoroughly grounded in the Modernist Movement (Yale '58 and Penn '62), Mr. Holm was a project designer at Vincent Kling Partnership in Philadelphia for 10 years while teaching the Bauhaus foundation program at the Philadelphia College of Art and studio courses at Drexel University. In 1976, he opened his own office and involved himself in restoration work and historical architecture. After several years of restoration work, Mr. Holm decided to dedicate his practice solely to design in the traditional manner, which he and his office continue that practice today.

Christine Frank — Designer, educator, author, and the first director of the Center for Advanced Research in Traditional Architecture at the University of Colorado Denver College of Architecture and Planning. Before establishing her own practice to focus on design and architectural education, she interned with the offices of Allan Greenberg Architect and Duany Plater-Zyberk & Co. in Washington, D.C., and served as the first executive director of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art. In 2013 she was appointed the first director of Contemporary Traditional Architecture Initiatives at the University of Colorado Denver College of Architecture and Planning. Ms. Franck currently serves or has served as trustee and adviser of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) National and Rocky Mountain Chapter, the International College of Chapters of the International Network of Traditional Building, Architecture and Urbanism (INTBAU), the National Civic Art Society (NCAS) and the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture.

Andrew Skurman — Principal of Andrew Skurman Architects, based in San Francisco, Skurman specializes in classical architecture of French, Georgian, and Mediterranean inspiration. He has recently completed the reconfiguration of a period room in the San Francisco Museum of Fine Arts and has received the title of Chevalier des Arts et Lettres for his contribution to the French arts.

Award Ceremony

The winners of the Bulfinch Awards will be recognized at a ceremonial reception and dinner gala in the Harvard Hall in the Harvard Club, designed by Parker, Thomas & Rice, at 374 Commonwealth Avenue, in Boston Saturday evening, April 23, 2016.

Keynote Lecture

This year’s Keynote Lecture will be delivered by Justin Shubow, president of the National Civic Art Society and a vigorous proponent of Classicism. April 23, 2016, at 1 p.m. in the Sanctuary at Old South Church. Founded in 2002, the NCAS supports the same agenda to foster a beautiful and meaningful civic realm as the ICAA. In 2011, it joined with the ICAA’s Mid-Atlantic chapter to host a counter-competition to identify alternatives to the controversial design by Frank Gehry for the proposed Eisenhower Memorial in Washington. Under Mr. Shubow’s leadership of the NCAS, which has included several deliveries of testimony before Congress, the Gehry design has been slowed if not yet stopped. The NCAS president has become a leading figure in the classical revival, notably through his column at Forbes magazine.


A public exhibit of selected entries and winners will be held at various locations throughout the year. Exhibit locations may include the Boston Society of Architects, the Boston Architectural College, the Ellis Boston Antiques Show, and the Massachusetts State House. The selected firms will be billed $75 for each display board to be exhibited, which will be produced by the New England Chapter; after the exhibits have concluded, the exhibitors will be able to make arrangements to pick the boards up to keep for their own use.

Winners Reception

To express gratitude, the New England chapter’s board will host a private cocktail party on Friday evening, April 22, for the Bulfinch Prize winners and the program’s Platinum sponsors. The winners will receive two tickets each. This intimate gathering will be held in Clio Restaurant’s Charles Eliot Room at The Eliot Hotel, at 370 Commonwealth Ave. The board looks forward to clinking glasses with its accomplished laureates and dedicated sponsors.

All entries and fees must be received on or before December 15, 2015.

All submittal-related questions should be directed to David Andreozzi, the Bulfinch Awards Committee Chairman.

For the full submission guidelines, fees, and entry form, please view the following PDFs:

Entry Form Submission Requirements