Bulfinch Awards

View the 2013 Bulfinch Award Winners

2014 Bulfinch Awards

The New England Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art is pleased to announce its fifth annual Bulfinch Awards. Named for Boston Architect Charles Bulfinch (1763-1844), America's first native-born architect and designer of the Massachusetts State House, the awards recognize the best work of individuals and firms to preserve and advance the classical tradition in New England.




Our esteemed jury for this year’s award program are:

Gary L. Brewer, AIA, Board of Directors of the national ICAA and partner at Robert A.M. Stern Architects, New York, New York

Michael G. Imber, FAIA, principal Michael G. Imber Architects, San Antonio, Texas and winner of the 2010, 2011 and 2013 Palladio Award as well as the ICAA- Texas 2011, 2012, 2013 John Staub Award

Russell Versaci, AIA, principal Russell Versaci Architecture, Middleburg, Virginia, author and a champion for traditional architecture

Award Ceremony

The winners of the Bulfinch Awards will be recognized at an evening ceremony and reception at the Massachusetts State House in Boston on Wednesday, November 12th, 2014. The winners are expected to attend or send a representative to accept their award. Winners will also be asked to provide digital images of their winning entries to accompany the presentation of awards at the ceremony. Further details will be provided in August.


A public exhibit of selected entries and winners will be held at various locations throughout the year. Exhibit locations may include the Boston Society of Architects, the Boston Architectural College, the Ellis Boston Antiques Show, and the Massachusetts State House. Selected firms will be contacted in August to provide a single vertical format 24”x36” display board including the designer’s name, logo, and choice of images to describe the submitted project. Printing and mounting costs may apply. Further details will be provided in August.

All entries must be received no later than June 30, 2014.

All submittal-related questions should be directed to the Bulfinch Awards Committee.

For the full submission guidelines, fees, and entry form, please view the following PDFs:

Entry Form Submission Requirements